fbpx

COVID-19 Insurance Regulations

A recent Executive Order issued by Governor Cuomo, together with recent amendments to the insurance and banking regulations issued by the New York State Department of Financial Services, extend grace periods and give you other rights under certain property/casualty insurance policies if you are an individual or small business and can demonstrate financial hardship as a result of the novel coronavirus (“COVID‑19”) pandemic. These grace periods and rights are currently in effect but are temporary, though they may be extended further. Please check the Department’s website at https://www.dfs.ny.gov/consumers/coronavirus for updates.
If you are an individual, generally, personal lines property/casualty insurance policies are covered by these amendments, including auto, homeowners’ and renters’ insurance. If you are an individual and an affected policyholder, please contact us or your carrier directly if you are uncertain whether your policy is covered.
If you are a small business, only certain types of commercial lines property/casualty insurance policies are covered by these amendments, generally including property, fire, commercial general liability, special multiperil, medical malpractice, workers’ compensation, commercial auto (including livery and other for-hire vehicles), and commercial umbrella insurance. A business qualifies as a “small business” if it is resident in New York State, is independently owned and operated, and employs 100 or fewer individuals. If you are a small business and an affected policyholder, please contact us or your carrier directly if you are uncertain whether your policy is covered.
 

Moratorium on Cancellation, Non-Renewal, and Conditional Renewal

If you are an affected policyholder, there is a moratorium on your insurer canceling, non-renewing, or conditionally renewing your property/casualty insurance policy for a period of 60 days. If you do not make a timely premium payment and can demonstrate financial hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, your insurer may not impose any late fees relating to the premium payment or report you to a credit reporting agency or a debt collection agency regarding such premium payment.

Catching up on Overdue Insurance Payments

The regulations also require your insurer to permit you, as an affected policyholder, to pay the overdue premium over a 12-month period if you did not make a timely premium payment due to financial hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic and can still demonstrate financial hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. This also applies if the insurer sent you a nonpayment cancellation notice prior to March 29, 2020.

Policies Financed by Premium Finance Agencies – Grace Period

If your insurance policy has been financed through a premium finance agency, and you, as an affected policyholder, do not make an installment payment, the premium finance agency may not cancel your policy for a period of at least 60 days, including any contractual grace period, and subject to the safety and soundness of the premium finance agency. In addition, if you do not make a timely installment payment to the premium finance agency, the premium finance agency must extend the due date for the installment payment by at least 60 days, may not impose any late fees relating to that installment payment, and may not report you to a credit reporting agency or a debt collection agency regarding that installment payment.

Catching up on Overdue Payments to Premium Finance Agencies

If you, as an affected policyholder, do not make a timely installment payment to the premium finance agency due to financial hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the premium finance agency must permit you to pay the installment payment over a 12-month period if you can still demonstrate financial hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, subject to the safety and soundness of the premium finance agency. This also applies if the premium finance agency issued a non-payment cancellation notice prior to March 29, 2020.

How to Demonstrate Financial Hardship

If you, as an affected policyholder, are unable to make a timely premium payment due to financial hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, you may submit to your insurer or premium finance agency, as applicable, a statement that you swear or affirm in writing under penalty of perjury that you are experiencing financial hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, which the insurer or premium finance agency, as applicable, shall accept as satisfactory proof. Such statement is not required to be notarized.

Questions

If you have any questions regarding your rights under the Executive Order or regulations, please contact us or your carrier directly.

 

Company

Phone

Website

A-Central Insurance Company 800-234-6926  www.acentralinsurance.com
Adirondack Insurance Exchange

877-365-8693

800-668-1398 (Roadside Asst.)

www.aie-ny.com
Aegis Security Insurance Company 800-233-2160 www.aegisfirst.net
American International Group 866-960-0772 www.aig.com
Allegany Co-Op Insurance Company

800-333-1679

877-346-0300 (After Hours)

www.alleganycoop.com
American Collectors 800-360-2277 www.americancollectorsins.com
American Modern Insurance Group 800-375-2075 www.amig.com
American Reliable 800-245-1505 www.assurantspecialtyproperty.com
AmTrust Financial 866-272-9267 www.amtrustnorthamerica.com
Andover Companies 800-255-0770 www.andovercos.com
Atlantic Casualty Insurance Company 877-222-5522 www.atlanticcasualty.net
AutoOne Insurance 866-252-4669 www.autooneins.com
Bristol West Insurance Group 800-274-7865 www.bristolwest.com
CNA Insurance 877-262-2727 www.cna.com
CNA Surety/Western Surety 877-672-6115 www.cnasurety.com
Chautauqua Patrons 800-896-4720 www.chautauquapatrons.com
Chubb Group of Insurance Companies

800-252-4670

800-699-9916 (Workers Comp.)

www.chubb.com
Community Mutual Insurance Co. 800-758-4545 www.communitymutual.com
Condon Skelly 800-257-9496 www.condonskelly.com
Dairyland Insurance

800-334-0090

800-325-9559 (Motorcycle)

www.dairylandinsurance.com
Dryden Mutual Insurance Company

800-782-0154

800-556-5802 (After Hours)

www.drydenmutual.com
Encompass Insurance 800-588-7400 www.encompassinsurance.com
Erie and Niagara Insurance Association 716-632-5433 www.enia.com
Fingerlakes Fire and Casualty 607-387-6800 www.flfcc.com
Firemans Fund Insurance Company 888-347-3428 www.firemansfund.com
First Rehab Insurance Company 800-365-4999 www.firstrehab.com
Foremost Insurance Group

800-527-3907

800-274-7865 (Auto Claims)

www.foremost.com
National General (Previously GMAC) 800-325-1088 www.nationalgeneral.com
GNY (Greater New York Insurance Company) 855-276-1271 www.gny.com
Hagerty Group 800-922-4050 www.hagerty.com
Hanover Insurance Group 800-628-0250 www.hanover.com
Harleysville Insurance Group

800-892-8877

800-421-3535 (Flood)

www.harleysvillegroup.com
Hartford Insurance Company 800-243-5860 www.thehartford.com
HR Keller 800-424-2202 www.kellerandco.com
International Marine Underwriters 877-248-3455 www.imu.com
JC Taylor 800-272-6764 www.jctaylor.com
Kemper Corporation 866-536-7376 www.kemper.com
Kingstone (Commercial Mutual)

800-364-7045

845-430-0771 (After Hours)

www.commercialmutual.com
Lancer Insurance Company 800-521-6155 www.lancerinsurance.com
Leatherstocking Cooperative Insurance Company

607-547-2007

800-886-8048 (After Hours)

www.leatherstockinginsurance.com
Liberty Mutual Insurance 800-225-2467 www.libertymutual.com
LoVullo 716-856-8057 www.lovullo.com
McNeil & Company 800-822-3747 www.mcneilandcompany.com
Merchants Insurance Group

800-952-5246

888-644-6680 (After Hours)

www.merchantsgroup.com
Mercury Insurance Group 800-503-3724 www.mercuryinsurance.com
MetLife Insurance Company 800-854-6011 www.metlife.com
Midstate Mutual Insurance Company 800-826-8520 www.midstatemutual.com
MSA (Main Street America Group/National Grange) 877-425-2467 www.msagroup.com
National Benefit Life 800-535-2710 www.nationalbenefitlife.com
National Flood 800-637-3846 www.nfsmt.com
North Country Insurance 800-847-7030 www.ncins.com
Nova Casualty (AIX Group) 800-338-1569 www.aixgroup.com
New York Central Mutual – NYCM 800-234-6926 www.nycm.com
NYPIUA (Fairplan) 212-208-9711 www.nypiua.com
Ohio Casuality 866-255-5530 www.ohiocasualty-ins.com
OneBeacon 877-248-3455 www.onebeacon.com
Peerless Insurance 800-522-7152 www.peerless-ins.com
Philadelphia Insurance Companies 800-765-9749 www.phly.com
Preferred Mutual Insurance Company 800-333-7642 www.pminsco.com
Progressive Insurance Company 800-776-4737 www.progressive.com
RLI Corp 800-444-0406 www.rlicorp.com
Russell Bond 800-333-7226 www.russellbond.com
Safeco 800-332-3226 www.safeco.com
Selective Insurance Group 866-455-9969 www.selective.com
State Insurance Fund 888-875-5790 www.nysif.com
Sterling Insurance Company 877-254-1767 www.sterlingins.com
Tower Group Companies 888-856-5522 www.twrgrp.com
Travelers Insurance Company

800-252-4633

800-238-6225 (Business Insurance)

www.travelers.com
United Frontier Mutual Insurance Company 800-352-0908 www.unitedfrontier.com
Utica First Insurance Company 800-456-4556 www.uticafirst.com
Utica National Insurance Group 800-216-1420 www.uticanational.com
Victoria Group 800-926-3168 www.victoriainsurance.com
Wayne Cooperative Insurance Company 800-724-1648 www.wcicny.com
Zurich Insurance Group 800-987-3373 www.zurich.com